pickleball-fall
By: CJ Johnson | December 4, 2017 |

Rule Review: A Swing and Miss

A Swing and a Miss is ok, sometimes.

Did you ever have a really bad day at pickleball play? Your timing seems off and you can’t see the ball coming at you?

Well, it’s ok to swing at and miss a returned ball. If you have a really fast partner, they may even be able to get behind you and cover it.

But you can’t swing and miss a serve. If you whiff a serve, that is a fault. Kind of like golf.

Bev writes a weekly email blast for our pickleball club. She delivers the rules with clarity and a sense of humor. If you have a rules question post it in the comments below.

 

CJ Johnson

Hey there — I’m a professional three-sport athlete and coach who has spent my entire adult life earning a living from playing and coaching sports. Since I started coaching more than three decades ago, one thing has remained the same: My commitment to see students not as they are but as what they can become and to move heaven and earth to help them realize their untapped potential. You should know that when it comes to helping pickleball players over 50 live their best lives on and off the courts, I'm an expert. Good pickleball is not just technique; it's the mind and body working holistically. That's why I'm also a personal trainer and weight management specialist. When I’m chillin', you'll find me watching Star Trek with my husband John and our two fur babies, Shirley and Ralph. (Yes, Happy Days)