pickleball-net
By: CJ Johnson | August 3, 2017 |

Pickleball Rules – The Horizontal Bar near the Bottom of the Net

pickleball net-the stabilizing barWho hasn’t hit the bar at the bottom of the net? LOL!!

The stabilizing bar along the lower part of our collapsible nets can cause some problems. Here is what the latest IFP rules say:

1. If the ball hits the horizontal bar before going over the net, it is a fault against the player who hit it.

2. Other than on the serve, if the ball goes over the net and hits the center base or any part of the horizontal bar or the ball gets caught between the net and the horizontal bar before, or after, touching the court, it is a let and will be replayed.

3. On the serve, if the ball hits the horizontal bar or the center base or gets caught between the net and horizontal bar after going over the net, it is a fault.

So after you are done laughing from such an unusual point, you make the call.

Thanks, Bev!

Bev writes a weekly email blast for our pickleball club. She delivers the rules with clarity and a sense of humor. If you have a rules question post it in the comments below.

 

CJ Johnson

Hey there — I’m a professional three-sport athlete and coach who has spent my entire adult life earning a living from playing and coaching sports. Since I started coaching more than three decades ago, one thing has remained the same: My commitment to see students not as they are but as what they can become and to move heaven and earth to help them realize their untapped potential. You should know that when it comes to helping pickleball players over 50 live their best lives on and off the courts, I'm an expert. Good pickleball is not just technique; it's the mind and body working holistically. That's why I'm also a personal trainer and weight management specialist. When I’m chillin', you'll find me watching Star Trek with my husband John and our two fur babies, Shirley and Ralph. (Yes, Happy Days)