Let-Serve
By: CJ Johnson | November 8, 2017 |

Pickleball Rule Review: Let Serve

Let ServeA let serve means let’s do that again! If your serve touches the net yet somehow continues to make it across the net, beyond the kitchen line, and into the correct portion of the opponent’s court, it is not a good serve, nor is it a fault against you. You get to do it again.

This may seem like a basic rule but I am constantly surprised to find that people think that if it touches the net it is always a let serve.

How many let serves can you have in one round? Two? Four? Answer: As many as it takes to get it right before faulting.

Curious about serving etiquette?

Bev writes a weekly email blast for our pickleball club. She delivers the rules with clarity and a sense of humor. If you have a rules question post it in the comments below.

 

 

CJ Johnson

Hey there — I’m a professional three-sport athlete and coach who has spent my entire adult life earning a living from playing and coaching sports. Since I started coaching more than three decades ago, one thing has remained the same: My commitment to see students not as they are but as what they can become and to move heaven and earth to help them realize their untapped potential. You should know that when it comes to helping pickleball players over 50 live their best lives on and off the courts, I'm an expert. Good pickleball is not just technique; it's the mind and body working holistically. That's why I'm also a personal trainer and weight management specialist. When I’m chillin', you'll find me watching Star Trek with my husband John and our two fur babies, Shirley and Ralph. (Yes, Happy Days)